First Married Valentine’s Day Dinner – Vegetarian Spinach Lasagna

Cross section of Spinach Lasagna made using Spinach Ball recipe as filler.

 This is a recipe given to my mother by my grandmother (dad’s mother).  My mom makes these for most large family occassions and celebrations – Christmas, Summer BBQ, Thanksgiving, whenever!  People always rave over them.  They’re absolutely fantastic!  The first time I asked my mom for the recipe, she emailed it to me but forgot to put the stuffing mix on the ingredient list.  So I made the recipe up until the ball forming part and didn’t know what to do! But I thought the mixture looked perfect for a lasagna.Here I am, nearly 8 years later giving that a try for the first time.  Below is the Spinach Ball recipe, but tonight I am making a lasagna using this recipe (sans stuffing mix) as a filling.
SPINACH BALLS

2 boxes frozen chopped spinach 1 cup chopped onions 3/4 cup margarine dash of garlic powder or to taste dash of pepper or to taste 1/2 cup parmesan cheese 5-6 beaten eggs 1 bag stuffing mix 1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. 2. Cook spinach according to package directions.  Drain well, squeezing access water from spinach.  Transfer to medium mixing bowl. 3. Saute onions in margarine on medium heat until brown – about 8 minutes.  Add to spinach in bowl. 4. Add all remaining ingredients and mix together well. 5. Form mixture into 1” – 1 ½” balls and bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Freezes well. Serving Size: unknown

Results of Mission Vegetarian Spinach Lasagna: YUM!

Reese's Tiger preparing to pounce on our lasagna! Grrrrrr!!!

My cousin asked me for the lasagna recipe so since I had to type it up anyway, I thought I would just post it here too!
How to Turn Spinach Balls into
Vegetarian Spinach Lasagna
2 boxes frozen chopped spinach 1 -1 ½ onions, chopped 3/4 cup (175 ml) margarine dash of garlic powder or to taste – I just shook the shaker all over dash of pepper or to taste – I just shook the shaker all over 1/2 cup (115 ml) parmesan cheese 5-6 beaten eggs 1 box lasagna noodles (buy the “no-boil” kind to save time!) 2 jars of your favorite spaghetti sauce a lot of shredded cheese – I didn’t measure, I just used a lot!  I jused a mix of cheddar and mozzerella.Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. 1. If you are using regular lasagna, start boiling them first according to package directions. 2. Cook spinach according to package directions (I boiled it in a cup of water for 10 minutes).  Drain well, squeezing extra water from spinach.  Transfer to a medium mixing bowl cooled and drained. 3. While spinach is cooking, saute onions in margarine on medium heat until brown – about 8 minutes.  Add onions to spinach in bowl. 4. Add garlic powder, black pepper, parmesan cheese, and eggs then mix together well. 5. In your baking dish, spread about half a cup to a cup (115 ml – 230 ml) of spaghetti sauce on the bottom of the dish.  Then layer cooked lasagna noodles on top of the sauce.  Next spread the spinach mixture over the noodles.  Next layer more noodles on top of the spinach mixture.   Cover the noodles liberally with more spaghetti sauce.  If you still have room in the dish and more ingredients, then repeat the layers with what you have.  When you are done, make sure the top layer is spaghetti sauce.  Now spread as much shredded cheese over the top of the lasagna.  Cover baking dish with foil and bake for 50-60 minutes or until heated all the way through and cheese on top is bubbly.EAT AND ENJOY!!
Leave a Reply

